About Us

The NC Rural Heritage Center is operated by the Scotland County Historical Properties Commission, an entity of Scotland County, NC government. The commission is appointed by Scotland County Commissioners and serve unpaid, three-year terms. As a 'working board', we staff the museum during its open hours (i.e. there are no paid staff members).

The 2023 Board Chair is Lyle Shaw - she may be reached at info@schpc-nc.com.

Supporting the Center

The museum is funded by modest allotments from Scotland County and generous donations from local history enthusiasts like you. We have no paid staff and thus, all proceeds go to maintenance and improvement of our facilities.

Please consider a one-time or recurring donation to the NC Rural Heritage Commission. For your convenience, you can mail a check or use our virtual giving options. Please make checks to 'NC Rural Heritage Center' and mail to P.O. Box Laurinburg, NC 28353.